Custom headers

Cory74700

I've been doing some research on the headers available for this motor through various companies, and I don't like the fact that it requires the cutting away from some of the frame to instal them. So I've come to the conclusion that I will be making my own set of bolt on headers specific to the vg30imotor in the pathfinder. I will then either be chroming them or ceramic coating them, does this sound like a good idea or bad?? I can get all the necessary pieces, I have plenty of welding experience, and ceramic coating is fairly simple as well. If I were to be able to successfully able to make these continuously would it be possible to have a short term market for them?? Thanks.

Yeah I wonder too...

None of the headers I know of will require cutting the frame. The exhaust system after the Y-pipe may sometimes require some trimming of the left transmission cross-member mount. No big deal there.

The only time it is probably needed to have to trim the frame if you are doing something like a turbo installation.

I've installed a set of Pacesetters and Mr.510s and neither require any frame modification. The Pacesetters however, on the passenger side, come really close (about 1/4-3/8") to the fuel lines and vent tubes so heat shielding those is pretty much necessary.

I will never buy another set of headers other than Mr.510's because they were designed by a professional in the 510 racing industry, their hand made build quality is through the roof, and well he's a good guy and a good friend so I'd rather my hard earned money go to him.

• Like 2

Agreed on using Mr.510s headers. The only problem with those is they do not pass smog. I know that he does not stock or inventory them so they are made as soon as he gets an order. Maybe he can put a bung in them for the EGR valve and then they will be street legal?