Distributors & Mexican dust

Guest Huatulco

Guest Huatulco

Hi I am new here ... sorry for not finding you all sooner.

I live in Mexico, oaxaca state and I off road every other day, but even so I am a newbie to mechanics (yes I know it's something I need to fix).

The dust here is a big factor, it's in the gas, it's in the air and it's for sure what a lot of the roads around here are made of.

My rig keeps stuttering when the distributor gets dust inside. I was hoping that a) someone can help me find a name for a component & B) that someone may know how to get around this problem

Inside the distributor there is a disc or lens (I really don't know which) and it is this that gets dirty and has been scratched by the dust. Can I clean it? If so what with and how do I remove it? If not where can I get just this part, as a full distributor is expensive.

Thanks guys

Adìos

Edited by Huatulco

is this stock deal? not sure about the r50 models but i thought they just had a rotor. cap and rotors are readily available in the US.. no clue about mexico. hopefully other r50 owners will chime in.

bienvenido amigo. got pics of your truck?

Guest infinitiqx4me

Just put some stuff on it called, di-electric grease(i think thats the name), you can also put it on the spark pluggs as well. It help seal things up and for me keep water out, so if it can do that then I am sure your dust issue might be cured.

Guest Huatulco

Hi all,

thanks for the replies I will try the oil between the seals 'turbopath'.

I know that when I went to the Nissan dealership locally that they said the disc was scratched. Where is this disk? In the rotor or in the cap? They told me that to replce the whole thing (distributor) would cost over $500 US. Talk about upselling.

Obvioulsy I don't want to do this, so any reccomendations would be good.

Sorry to sound so newbie on this it's just that I have only had the pathfinder for 2 months so far.

Vàmonos

Hola Amigo!