Gas Cans

94 Pathy

WAVEY

Hello all!

Has anyone ever used or mounted a Jerry can(5gal gas can) mount on or inside of your Pathy? I was thinking about mounting two cans on the tire rack and the tire up on top. With the wonderful gas prices, I'm afraid some @sshole will come along and steal the cans :furious: , so I'm thinking about mounting one inside the cargo area. :aok: Any ideas or thoughts? :beer:

It isn't too hard to rig some sort of lockable strap or bar for external mounts. Gas isn't THAT expensive that it needs to be bank vault secure. I personally prefer to keep gas out of the interior of the vehicle...

B

I'm with B...keeping the gas on the inside of the vehicle will just make it so that you reek of fuel when you go out on your hot date this weekend. Fortunately, by the end of the evening, your date will also reek of fuel, so it won't matter anymore.

Seriously though, outside is best. As a crazy geologist, I have often been doing field work far from service stations (and pavement for that matter) and prior to these field camps, have rigged as many as 20 gal (4 cans) to my roof (modified yakima system) and rear tire rack. I keep one on the rear rack all the times, as it locks down.

With a 31" spare there is just barely enough room to mount a Blitz/jerry can on the passenger side of the rack (you will cover a fraction of an inch of the rt side tail light).

I started with a telescoping bracket from Con-Ferr (check out the link below)

http://www.rockymountaincruisers.com/cgi-b...tml/product=302

Then I cut two pieces of 3/4" square x-section aluminium tube to the same length, drilled holes to match the holes on the C-F bracket, and sandwinched the tubes on the tire rack with machine bolts. I used all but one hole on the bracket (due to a curve on the bottom tube of the tire rack) and it has been mounted and happy for about 100,000 miles.