Megasquirting my WD21

Adam

I'm starting this thread a little bit early but next month I will be Megasquirting my Pathfinder. I originally bought this MS3X kit to swap a 3.0l I6 from a 2001 BMW 330ci into my 86 BMW 325e, and I've made plenty of strides towards that but still don't have the engine in yet. Money has mainly been keeping me back on that project.

One of the things I've needed to purchase for some time is a wideband O2 sensor (I'll be using the Innovate LC-1). I'm a guitar builder but that doesn't pay the bills really and I'm also a college student using the GI Bill, which is my only real source of income currently because building guitars is pretty fruitless. Having recently totaled my 87 BMW 635csi hydroplaning during a really bad storm my Pathfinder has become my daily driver again.

My Pathfinder currently only has 2 'mods', a K&N filter and I've bored the MAF .250" over. The MAF boring has really caused a hit on my fuel economy though it has given me a very noticeable boost in power. I'm only average 14mpg currently and that's on stock sized tires and stock ride height.

I really like my Pathfinder, quite a bit, and seeing that it's my daily driver I've decided to convert it to Megasquirt so I can attempt to get a bit more power while also getting better fuel economy.

So I've already built the ECU, I've tested it and it's working.

Here's what I started with:

IMG_20110903_144015.jpg

Here's what I ended up with:

IMG_20110906_132313.jpg

The MS3X board isn't installed hence the open plug, it is installed currently though.