Trailer wireing

Guest GotPygmy93

Guest GotPygmy93

hey i'm new to this so I'm sorry if I'm doing anything wrong. but I've been haveing some problems tring to find a trailer wireing kit for my 93 Pathfinder I got one from a local baxter's auto parts store and it fit the truck but for some reasion it wouldn't send power to my left turn signel and brake lights. then I tried the ebay mess and the sent me one that doesn't even fit am I just going to have to find a dealer to get one?

Trailer wiring is simple. Splice the new trailer wires into the correct light wire already existing inside your Pathfinder for each operation, such as turn signal, brake and running lights. Run the wiring through a grommeted hole in the rear floor near the taillight on the driver's side. You'll also need to provide a ground wire for the trailer lights. There's nothing model-specific about trailer lights.

Hey 88, don't forget. The Finder requires a box to convert turn signals and brakelights to the same leads. The converter can be found in any Walmart or auto parts store for about $10-15.

I did a hitch and wiring harness install a few months ago and did a lilttle write up about it. Let me know if you have any questions.

Hitch

Read the last post from me at the bottom of the page.

Check your ground.

I bought a pre-wired harness for my 95 and a converter to go from the flat 4 way to the round 7-pin for my trailer.

The white ground of the 4-way flat was not connected to the 7 way converter.

You have to ground the white wire on the 7 pin plug.

At least thats what I had to do.

Oh, and if you are pulling a trailer, check the clearance if you have the rear mounted spare tire.

I had to remove my tire and mount to hook up my new trailer.

Good Luck.

• 1 month later...
Guest Pathy4X4

how much towing capacity is there on a pathy??

think the book says like 3500.

can you tow more if you have biger springs in the rear end (jgc, ford?)