What kind of bumper would you go with?

TrailChaser

If you could build a steel/iron bumper which materials would you use?  

40 members have voted

1. 1. If you could build a steel/iron bumper which materials would you use?

• 4"x6" square tubing
    • Square tubing with one 2 3/8" pipe underneath
    • Two 2 7/8" pipes stacked
    • 4"x8" square tubing
    • ARB/TJM sheetmetal style

I've been wanting to get this project started for some time now. the main problem I'm having is deciding what metal to use, and what design I want to go with. I weld for a living so the actual building of the bumper is the easy part. I can get just about any kind of metal from work for free, or at cost if I have to cut into new stock. I'm building this back bumper first. Then I plan on building a front bumper/brushgaurd to match or at least be a similar style.

If you where a welder or had access to free or really cheap metal and welding supplies what would you build for your Pathfinder?

So far I haven't made very many things. I get what's left over after I eat on my hour lunch break to do whatever I want in the shop. That's about 40mins a day, 5 days a week.

I've made a "bigger than you can buy" rear hiddin hitch carrier that would normally sell for $60 to $150, and I got bored one day and made a "4x4" symbol to cover the hole in that hitch while nothing is attached.

Sorry about messing up the voting part, I don't know what happened... Anyway, if you could just write it in a reply that would be great.

Here's a few pics so you can what I was talking about.

post-9-1089852537.jpg