Drilling Out Bolts

94 Pathy

:help:

Ok all you machining freaks! I'm drilling out some holes/broken bolts for the front skid plate. I used a 5/16" drill bit and now I'm trying to figure out what size of :confused: Tapper bit :shrug: to use for the threads. Do I go that route or do I screw the threads in with Heli-Coil Inserts? I would think that making the threads permenant would be best. According to the Heli-Coil Insert kit I have, it calls for a drill size "U" (.368). I'm guessing by the size of things that my 5/16" drill is too small, so what size of drill bit is "U"?

Thanks for all your help!

:beer:

Ok before you tap it. Try an easy out this will take care of most sheared off bolts. This way you can just ream the hole with the existing threads.

So punch it (make it a good one)

Next take a small drill bit drill in it aways.

Now take your easyout and it will come right out.

This is the easyway to take these bolts out.

:beer:

Hey 94 Pathy, I'm a machinist by trade so I can help... First off, have you already drilled out the holes/ broken bolts ? Second, 5/16 is the nominal core hole size for a 3/8-16 tap so you can just tap the (existing :shrug: ) holes in that size. What ever you tap with, make sure to champher the hole larger than the tap size, it will help things greatly. Third, heli-coils are great, but maybe unnecessary, are the holes clean metal and how thick is the wall ? Fourth, U drill is the size; american measurement drills come in letter, number and fractional sizes ie, U, #7, and 5/16. It totally sucks and is left over from several industries refusing to standardize. Regardless, any hardware store worth a crap will have a U drill waiting for you. Let me know whats up, I'll pay attention and get you on the right path...

Bernard

:clap: