Better late than never

Ale

Bought my '91 Pathfinder last summer. Had the transmission die a couple of days ago which brought me on here looking for advice. Wish I'd found this place sooner since some of the advice (like an aftermarket cooler) might have saved the transmission. Anyway, I'm pretty new to Off-Roading and trying to learn the ropes. Any suggestions for decent roads in southern B.C. for a newbie would be greatly appreciated. :D

Regards,

AL

I live in Port Coquitlam, work downtown Vancouver. Southern BC is a description of the areas I'm likely to do off-roading in. :) I've only done a few rough roads so far - nothing truly nasty... yet.

AL

I have heard that there are good trails in the Sardis/Chilliwack River area, a few mountain tops to go to by way of forestry lookout roads. Checkout some of the 4x4 shops in Lower Mainland, they should be able to point you in the right direction.

North of the toll both on the Coquihalla Highway there is another forestry lookout road, not too difficult but a great view, on Thynne Mnt., accessed from Brookmere.

Forestry lookout roads can be a challenge as they are usually very steep and not maintained (the lookouts are not used anymore) and as a bonus you generally get a great view once you make it to the top.

That sound great Trainman. I'm a photographer and always in search of scenic locales. I know we have an abundance of them here in BC but I don't get enough chances to go exploring in order to find them. I've been thinking about starting up a photojournal of the various roads I explore. Is there any sort of resource for 4x4 enthusiasts to post images of the places they visit?

Regards,

AL

Glad to help,

I've been thinking about starting up a photojournal of the various roads I explore. Is there any sort of resource for 4x4 enthusiasts to post images of the places they visit?

Regards,

AL