How to know if my exhaust manifold studs are broken

1994SEV6

Hey there guys!

I'm new to NPORA, but so far I like it a lot. The common problems and fixes section was amazing. I've been hearing about the exhaust stud manifold problem for some time now, and I'm fairly convince that I have this problem.

Some people were trying to tell me I had a bottom rod knock, but I've been driving it for 6000 miles. Then some other people were certain it was a bent valve or lifter tap. I have no idea how ONE vavle would get bent, but the lifter seems to be very common.

Anyway, this exhaust manifold stud breakage issue seems to be very widespread. I was just wondering if there was a way to confirm it for sure? I hear one idea of using the seaform in the intake vacuum and then see if the white smoke comes out near the engine. Seems fairly do-able but not entirely positive.

Here's some info:

my nissan is a 1994 SEV6 with about 130k miles. I bought it about 7000 miles ago and as far as I can tell, everything but the auto trans is original. About a week after I got it, the tapping occured. It's been worrying/irritating me ever since.

I have seen some posts about how to fix the problem, but I don't want to go fixing something that ain't broke.

I need to know how I can 100% positively confirm that it is the broken exhaust manifold studs causing the problem. Also, if not, what else could this be?

Thanks in advance guys

/\Says the guy with the 10mm exhaust studs... :rolleyes:

Welcome!! Ok, I recommend removing the heat shields and looking to see if the studs/nuts are still there. Then, put a socket on them and try to turn them (checking to see if they are broken but haven't fallen out). Third, I HIGHLY recommend a mechanic's stethoscope for chasing noises ($5-10). You can use a tube (metal or even cardboard) or a solid rod (long screwdriver) as a makeshift noise transmitter/amplifier but the stethoscope is the way to go. :aok:

B