My Shocks are Fully Extended

William

Hi all,

I am new to NPORA but very happy to be part of this forum with similar WD21 owners.

I recently upgraded my 1992 WD21 XE 4WD A/T with the following:

- 3" Body Lift (Peformance Accessories)

- 3" Suspension Lift (UCA + Rear Coils)

- Ball Joint Spacers

- RS5000 Steering Stabilizer (Rancho)

- Oil Filter Relocation Kit

- Open Air Intake Filter (Weapen-R)

- Calmini Torsion Bars

- M/T 15x10 Classic Lock II Wheels

- BfGoodrich 33x12.5R15 Tires

Immediately following the Suspension/Spacers upgrade, all my 4 Shocks became "fully extended". The

ride is very "uncomfortable", "stiff" and "bouncy" to say the least.

I informed the guys at 4x4Parts.com and asked if I needed to upgrade my Shocks.

They mentioned that my REAR shocks should be upgraded to longer ones as follows:

OLD: RS999118 (Upper Mount:L1, Lower Mount: L1, Compressed: 14.360", Extended: 22.19", Travel: 7.83")

NEW: RS999333 (Upper Mount:L1, Lower Mount: L1, Compressed: 15.190", Extended: 24.33", Travel: 9.14")

Whereas they said my FRONT ones are corret size and should not be changed:

OLD: RS999214 (Upper Mount:S42, Lower Mount: LS23, Compressed: 10.340", Extended: 14.5", Travel: 4.16")

It might be that the mechanic cranked the hell out of my Torsion Bars causing the front-end to stiffen

like a rock. The new rear shocks could potentially solve the stiffening of Rear-end.

I figured since I am buying new rear shocks, I should invest a little more and upgrade all 4 to

REMOTE RESERVOIR Shocks or better longer shocks.

Is it doable? Any brand/model numbers available for our WD21 nowadays?

What is the maximum COMPRESSED/EXTENDED length shocks should I put instead?

Any help is appreciated.

William

He was correct in saying the fronts are fine, but I would suggest new at all 4 corners anyway, just to have a complete matching set. Can sometimes find deals on sets of 4