About ECU codes

As a screw driver mechanic, I do not know how to read ECU codes. I found this tutorial on NicoClub, but I haven´t try it yet...

http://forums.nicoclub.com/how-to-read-dtc-s-diagnostic-trouble-codes-t488116.html

Does it work for a R50 (2000-SE 3.3L)?

The Pathy is working good, but who knows, maybe I will need to know if something goes bad, and go to the mechanic to help me with the truck... hahahahaha

Thanks!

• Like 1

As a non-mechanic here as well, I purchased an OBD2 reader from amazon last year. Spent less than $20, leave it plugged in all the time and have an app on my phone that reads current information and DTC codes whenever I want. I don't really understand the "screwdriver/socket-wrench/standalone" mechanic categories completely, but I do also go to my mechanic for help when I cannot see the problem directly. I'll do electrical work (lights/wiring) but nothing that would stop my DD Pathfinder from taking me to work. I'll do suspension work, but nothing I can't put back together in an hour if I need to go somewhere. I don't have a garage, just a gravel driveway to work in. So, I am also a fair-weather mechanic. I bought the OBD2 (bluetooth) reader for piece of mind.

Where do you live? In the states you can go to any auto parts store and they will scan it free of charge. Not sure about other countries.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I live in Bogotá, Colombia, I do not know if in some auto parts stores they do that... I am sure my mechanic does do the scan... But from my house to the mechanic shop it takes me 2 hours in heavy city trafic... So i go there when it is really necesary to go....