Quick axle question

djratlif

Right now I have been driving a 1992 WD21 for a few years and just recently bought a 1998 R50 on a whim because the price was good. The rust on the R50 is too much for me so I am planned on using the drive train to replace the old stuff in the WD21.

The first thing I want is the Limited Slip out of the rear of the R50, but with different spline counts on the shafts I can't simply swap it in from what I have gathered so far. Does anyone here know if I can swap the carrier/gears along with the axle shafts from the newer R50 into the older WD21 housing? Any help is appreciated on my end. The R50 seems to crawl around in 2wd with bald tires better than the WD21 in 4wd with new Wrangler Authority tires on it.

Right now I have been driving a 1992 WD21 for a few years and just recently bought a 1998 R50 on a whim because the price was good. The rust on the R50 is too much for me so I am planned on using the drive train to replace the old stuff in the WD21.

The first thing I want is the Limited Slip out of the rear of the R50, but with different spline counts on the shafts I can't simply swap it in from what I have gathered so far. Does anyone here know if I can swap the carrier/gears along with the axle shafts from the newer R50 into the older WD21 housing? Any help is appreciated on my end. The R50 seems to crawl around in 2wd with bald tires better than the WD21 in 4wd with new Wrangler Authority tires on it.

I'm not familiar with the R50 axle gears, but as far as the amount of work to swap the gears, wouldn't it be easier (as long as the width of the axle in the same), to swap the whole axle and just deal with coil spring mounts, and other "weld on" brackets to make it work?

You would also have to look into (and fab or modify) other peripheral things such as e-brake cable, brake line, and axle shaft yokes/flanges, but these are a lot more of a intermediate level of expertise type issues, than a gear swap?

Depends on your skill set???