Pro's And Con's Of Installing Lift

zonianbrat

Ok as the title says I am looking for opinions here is my situation.

I have a 97 R50 XE pretty much stock with 31x10.50 BFG's. I'm a geological consultant and I work on oil rigs out in the boonies. This job requires me to use my own vehicle. So far not a big deal but these rigs are in truly remote locations. And getting to them has already required 4x4 more than once. It also requires quite a bit of highway driving as well depending on where I have to go. I have wanted to put a lift on my truck for a while now but having a child 2 years ago and now another on the way has postponed that. This job looks much more promising as far as me being able to modify my truck. I am not sure whether I would go with the AC 2" or OME lift. The question is with the highway driving would it be worth it to get lift tires etc or would it bu a dumb idea. I already get some crappy gas mileage so that is not a major concern. One thing to think about it during the winter I have been told the trails to get to some of these rigs in the rocky's can be horrible. I already know I will need some chains. So what do you guys think? And which lift would you recommend if I do lift the truck. All your responses are truly appreciated.

I also have the AC lift with no issues...

Although mudders can be good in deep soft snow, AT's with good siping (insert promo for Bridgestone Revos here :tongue:) are much better for ice and hardpack...

I guess my question to you is why do you think you should NOT get the lift?