"Other" suspension options?

jyeager

Hello! Well, I'm new to the ins and outs of the R50. I've owned one for 6 years, but am just now beginning to think about retiring it from daily driving and turning it in to a toy.

So, as I pour over the suspension modifications there are 3 options that seem to be all we have to choose from:

1) Spring/Spacer lift for about 2"

2) SFD for about 4"

3) Solid Axle Swap (SAS)

I'm curious if anyone has investigated different options and ruled them out as viable? I have some ideas that only have their basis in my fuzzy mind. Here they are for comment:

A) Adapt a different strut for more travel. Looking at Monroe's spec sheet I see a strut that seems to be compatible. The stock strut is spec'd for a height range of 16.6"-23.3" for a travel of 6.7".

There is a strut listed as working with 1993-2001 Camry in the REAR that has the same body as our struts and it has a length of 16.3"-24.2" for a travel of 7.9".

I would expect some tabs needing to be transferred over by tack welding (brake line tab for instance) but otherwise, it might be a great solution to top-out problems when used with lifting springs.

B) A lifting solution that would solve the Camber adjustment issue as well as eliminate the need for wheel spacers...space the strut from the buttom. Perhaps the bottom hole in the strut can bolt to the top hole in the knuckle and a bracket can be made simply by cutting some 1/4 plate correctly to create a top mounting hole for the strut. For someone with a band saw or plasma cutter and a drill press, it could be made for pennies.