Custom build - r50 pathy aluminum diff guard.

smooth ripples or row of dimes?  

6 members have voted

1. 1. Should i make the weld with smooth ripples or give it that stack of dimes look?

• No need to show off its just a guard, smooth ripples.
    • The row of dimes look super cool, row of dimes.

In this topic I will be goin through the process of designing, fabricating and installing an aluminum diff. guard for my pathy.

this is my first post so i hope im in the right spot. :huh: . this will be a work in progress so itll take some time for me to get this done (time is in really short order for me these days). Be patient! This is also my first time building a diff guard so tips and constructive criticism are welcome (stay away trolls!)

I am a welder by training and trade and can weld pretty much anything to anywhere so I chose an aluminum GTAW project.

This is what i got so far in the planning dept.:

-I will be using 6061 aluminum plate 5/16" thick

-Gas of choice 50/50 heli/argon

-4043 3/16" o.d. filler

-All joints will be back welded, gouged then full penetration welded

-After completion the guard will be "aged"

-1/8" 2% lanthinated electrode, balled

well this is it so far. if any other pro welders have any tips about set up for the machine, mats. ect, ect lemme know or ifs theres any vet. armor builders drop a tip if you can such as mounting points clearence from the diff ect, ect.

quik poll weld profile smooth ripples or row of dimes (no structural difference)

Update: The reasons im building this.

practice-working with thick aluminum. if and when i do weld aluminum its mostly thin stuff.

more practice-Ive been jonesin for an aluminum project

familiarization-i need a better idea of whats on the underside of my pathy so imma crawl under it a bit

materials testing-will 5/16" 6061 aluminum plate be enuff for moderate off road? hell idk but imma find out.