Lube and modify

Guest RWRP

I'm relatively new to this, but I want to do this work myself and learn how.

I want to lubricate the chassis, the suspension, and in the summer I want to repack the front wheel bearings.

Where are the lubrication points under the vehicle, and will synthetic grease be ok?

As for the wheel bearings, will it be easier to swap to manual hubs if I do that while the hub is apart for the greasing anyway?

I also intend to put in synthetic gear oil and t-case lube. I intend to make this truck last, but I use it for work and it needs the synthetic protection.

Don't know about the first question, but as for the wheel bearings, when I went to manual hubs, I replaced and repacked the bearings also. (both inner and outer). As for synthetic oils, a few people have made the switch, but, depending on your mileage, the synthetics have been known to leak when you change from regular oil :blink:

Where are the lubrication points under the vehicle, and will synthetic grease be ok?

according to what I remember it's a dry system and I don't think there's any lube points in the front, but I think there is one on the drive shaft base on the last time I went under my Pathy at a lube and oil station.

You have 1 lubrication point on the front drive shaft about 4 inches or so in front of the transfer case.

It will be easier to switch to manual hubs while doing a bearing repack since you'll have to remove the dust cap and driveflanges, they can be a pain to get off the first time. If you don't do it now you'll have to remove them again later. You might also want to look into getting the right size bearing locknut socket to help seat the bearings.

Yeah, all I see is the one on the front driveshaft near the t case, but it's not a fitting, it's shaped like a fitting, but I think it's a plug.

Where can I order a seal kit?