96 VG33 intake manifold oil deposits

tpounds

Hey folks,

I've been lurking a bit but I'm finally getting to work on my pathy(ies) after a cold winter and have run into some problems and I could use some advice & knowledge. I bought a 96 LE (green) manual trans 4x4 in 2016 that had transmission problems and then stumbled upon another (black) one just like it last year on craigslist that did not run with supposed fuel delivery problems. The previous owners of the black one said that they thought it was a problem with the fuel injector pressure regulator. They told me they had already replaced the fuel pump & fuel filter and had a mechanic tell them it was probably the regulator because they weren't getting enough fuel. I'm just a shade tree type mechanic but don't mind getting a little dirty in the right conditions so terminology can be a bit rough here so please bear with me. :)

I started removing parts and inspected things to possibly find what needs to be replaced. I've dismantled quite a bit of the topside of the engine and found some head scratcher issues along the way. When i got to the throttle body i noticed a little black oil in it and when I took off the intake plenum black oil was clearly visible inside it and the lower manifold. When I removed the tube that runs from one valve cover to the other under the distributor there was the tip of a pipe scraper about 2" long broken off inside. Ok, whoever left it in there is in need of a Jethro Gibbs head smack but thats beside the point. Without taking the fuel issue into account this leads to my first questions: 

Is that enough to cause the disrupted flow of air and oil to make it head towards the throttle body or manifold in some way? 

If not, should I be looking for something else that is causing this like the PCV or something?