Jump to content


Photo

E85 in the 95 Turbo, let's see what happens.


  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   snowboard419

snowboard419

    NPORA Veteran

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Local time: 08:51 AM
  • Location:colorado springs
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1991

Posted 03 June 2018 - 07:52 AM

I have decided to see how much ethanol the fuel system in the truck. I'm shooting for around 50 percent. I'll update you guys later today, wish me luck.


Sent from my Tank Xtreme Pro using Tapatalk

#2 OFFLINE   Citron

Citron

    NPORA Old-Timer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 962 posts
  • Local time: 07:51 AM
  • Location:Silver Creek, Washington [WA]
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1992

Posted 03 June 2018 - 07:54 AM

Why?

#3 OFFLINE   snowboard419

snowboard419

    NPORA Veteran

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Local time: 08:51 AM
  • Location:colorado springs
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1991

Posted 03 June 2018 - 11:16 AM

I am to the point where I need higher octane fuel than the 91 pump gas we get here. An E50 blend should put octane numbers around 95 to 100. You just have to supply 20 to 30 percent more fuel vs straight gasoline.

Sent from my Tank Xtreme Pro using Tapatalk

#4 OFFLINE   djeffrey

djeffrey

    NPORA Veteran

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Local time: 03:51 PM
  • Location:Acton ca
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1991

Posted 03 June 2018 - 12:01 PM

That's awesome! Are you making changes to your tune as you change the fuel around to utilize it?

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk

#5 OFFLINE   snowboard419

snowboard419

    NPORA Veteran

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Local time: 08:51 AM
  • Location:colorado springs
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1991

Posted 03 June 2018 - 12:09 PM

So I went down to the local fueling hole, and topped up the tank with E85, I put in 10 gal and figured i had around 7 gal of regular premium still in the tank. As I pulled it to a parking lot next to the fuel station to adjust the tune the wideband o2 started reading very lean, which is exactly what I expected. I added 20% more fuel to the entire fuel table, and dropped the boost down to 7-8 psi. It drove extremely well, and all of my air fuel ratios were pretty close. I still have some fine tuning to do, and need to get the boost turned back up slowly, but it looks like it is working well so far.



#6 OFFLINE   snowboard419

snowboard419

    NPORA Veteran

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Local time: 08:51 AM
  • Location:colorado springs
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1991

Posted 03 June 2018 - 01:59 PM

      I just got back from doing some pulls, I have the boost turned back up to about 13 psi, AFR's are a touch on the rich side under boost. I have not touched timing yet, but she seems to pull just as hard if not harder. Injector duty cycle is at 90% so I am right on the high side of that. My knock sensor light that usually starts to blink a bit at me when I push it this hard has not lit up even once, so I am definitely seeing benefits from the added octane and cooling effects. Next step is to dial in the AFR under boost and add some timing. :laugh:  



#7 OFFLINE   djeffrey

djeffrey

    NPORA Veteran

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Local time: 03:51 PM
  • Location:Acton ca
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1991

Posted 03 June 2018 - 07:00 PM

That is really cool to hear! I am really excited to start my MS build and tuning, it will be a new experience for me so I am excited. 



#8 OFFLINE   snowboard419

snowboard419

    NPORA Veteran

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Local time: 08:51 AM
  • Location:colorado springs
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1991

Posted 05 June 2018 - 05:45 PM

So I have turned the boost up to about 14.5 , and added about 3 degrees of timing so far and still looking good on all the data logs. Injector duty cycle hit 97 percent on one pull but all the AFR' s stayed consistent . So we will push it a bit further.
I pulled a fuel sample and tested ethanol content and we are sitting right at 40 percent.

Sent from my Tank Xtreme Pro using Tapatalk

#9 OFFLINE   djeffrey

djeffrey

    NPORA Veteran

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Local time: 03:51 PM
  • Location:Acton ca
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1991

Posted 06 June 2018 - 09:57 AM

That is awesome! Are you feeling a significant difference? I wonder what your fuel mileage would do under normal driving conditions with your new tune and setup



#10 OFFLINE   Cuong Nguyen

Cuong Nguyen

    Mr. RTI

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,348 posts
  • Local time: 09:51 AM
  • Location:Houston, TX
  • Model:XE
  • Year:1993

Posted 06 June 2018 - 05:06 PM

That's good stuff man!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N920A using Tapatalk

#11 OFFLINE   snowboard419

snowboard419

    NPORA Veteran

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Local time: 08:51 AM
  • Location:colorado springs
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1991

Posted 06 June 2018 - 05:26 PM

That is awesome! Are you feeling a significant difference? I wonder what your fuel mileage would do under normal driving conditions with your new tune and setup

The difference from pre ethanol to post ethanol is quite noticeable, especially while tuning. I'm running more boost with more timing than I could before. The difference pre turbo to post turbo is freaking incredible. Last I checked my mileage on 91 pump gas I was around 12.5. With the added ethanol I bet mileage is down to 10 or less. And I can't keep my foot out of it so that doesn't help

Sent from my Tank Xtreme Pro using Tapatalk

#12 OFFLINE   djeffrey

djeffrey

    NPORA Veteran

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Local time: 03:51 PM
  • Location:Acton ca
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1991

Posted 08 June 2018 - 11:56 AM

I have a question, I know I can PM you but keeping it on the forum allows other people to learn as well. I am about to start my research and purchasing to upgrade my fuel injectors, use megasquirt, and probably at the same time or later build the turbo kit. Question is, I know the mega squirt is managing the engine instead of the stock ECU, and If I understand right, the stock ECU is staying in to manage the rest of the car, is that correct? Are you still able to maintain the stock guages? Or do the guages become dead and you had to install aftermarket hardware? 

 

Also, were you able to find an A-pillar guage mount for your boost, O2 sensor, etc that fit well in the pathy? 

 

Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions! 



#13 OFFLINE   Slartibartfast

Slartibartfast

    NPORA Old-Timer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4,743 posts
  • Local time: 07:51 AM
  • Location:Eastern Washington
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1993

Posted 08 June 2018 - 03:34 PM

These guys do a pillar gauge pod for these. Pictures/reviews here.
 

I think the only thing the stock ECU does besides control the engine is send info the trans computer (if you've got an auto trans), send a signal to the tach, and control the check engine light. I'm curious how the tach's hooked up but I wouldn't be surprised if the Megasquirt could send the same signal the stock ECU does.

 

I'll bet two atmospheres of boost wakes a WD21 right the hell up!



#14 OFFLINE   snowboard419

snowboard419

    NPORA Veteran

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Local time: 08:51 AM
  • Location:colorado springs
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1991

Posted 08 June 2018 - 07:14 PM

   In my setup the stock ECU is nonexistent, the megasquirt ecu does send a tach signal to the dash, all of the other gauges are wired directly to their senders so removing the ecu does not effect them. I had purchased a gauge pod a while back on a group buy here on NPORA but I lost it somehow. The only aftermarket gauges I have at the moment are, wideband o2, boost, and an led for knock sensing. All just stuffed in the dash, but it looks pretty clean. So every thing on the dash works like stock except the check engine light. 

 

  And two atmospheres worth of boost wakes this thing the hell up for sure.  :laugh:   

 

  

 

 

 

 



#15 OFFLINE   djeffrey

djeffrey

    NPORA Veteran

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Local time: 03:51 PM
  • Location:Acton ca
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1991

Posted 08 June 2018 - 10:18 PM

That is great to hear! So I won't be doing anything with the old ECU, since I have a manual trans. Does your AC work separately as well? or will that rely on the computer? 

 

What do you do for a CEL, does mega squirt do anything? I cant imagine you really need anything besides a knock sensor, oil pressure, water temp, but I could be wrong. I feel like the CEL is probably not necessary anymore. 

 

Thanks for posting the gauge pod link! I am stoked I can get a paint matched gauge pod!  



#16 OFFLINE   snowboard419

snowboard419

    NPORA Veteran

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Local time: 08:51 AM
  • Location:colorado springs
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1991

Posted 09 June 2018 - 08:41 AM

  No AC because the turbskie sits right where the compressor was. But if you mounted the turbo different you may be able to keep the ac. No CEl hooked up, I just keep an eye on the datalogs pretty frequently to make sure nothing is going on. What the megasquirt needs to run an engine well is, crank position, manifold pressure, throttle position, coolant temp, intake air temp and an o2. You can add knock sensing(which i have), oil pressure, exhaust gas temp,etc etc, as needed for tuning purposes. 



#17 OFFLINE   djeffrey

djeffrey

    NPORA Veteran

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Local time: 03:51 PM
  • Location:Acton ca
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1991

Posted 09 June 2018 - 09:03 PM

That's awesome info thank you! I will definitely have to find a way to keep my AC. I may be a bit of a sissy, but in the California desert I would rather have AC even if it meant no turbo! but I am sure I will figure something out.



#18 OFFLINE   adamzan

adamzan

    Hi

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,779 posts
  • Local time: 10:51 AM
  • Location:Ottawa Ontario, Canada
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1994

Posted 13 June 2018 - 03:16 AM

If you want to keep the Ac, you could go supercharger from an X or frontier.

#19 OFFLINE   djeffrey

djeffrey

    NPORA Veteran

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 120 posts
  • Local time: 03:51 PM
  • Location:Acton ca
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1991

Posted 16 June 2018 - 10:48 AM

yeah that is a good point. I am worried it will eat up some fuel mileage having a S/C for normal highway driving. I wonder if I can make the supercharger work with all of the 3.0 accessories and pulleys, I used a Mr,510 adapter so I wouldn't have to use the 3.3 accessories. I definitly feel like a S/C would be easier than having to reroute exhaust and finding a spot for the turbo to sit.



#20 OFFLINE   adamzan

adamzan

    Hi

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 17,779 posts
  • Local time: 10:51 AM
  • Location:Ottawa Ontario, Canada
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1994

Posted 17 June 2018 - 06:30 AM

There was a guy on here that kept the v belts and used a separate pulley welded on after the last one on the oem piece. I cant find it now but will post it when I do.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Welcome to NPORA Forums

 

Please REGISTER to gain full access to the forum.

 

Make sure you read the Forum Guidelines and don't forget to post a new intro in the New People Start Here! section, to say hi too everyone.

 

-NPORA