Jump to content


Moving To New Servers!

 

*Temporarily On Hold Due To Time Restrictions*

 

Members interested in helping test the new NPORA server platform, please contact RedPath88 via PM or email for further information.
 
Thank you,
-NPORA
 
 


Photo

bad tach


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rboat88h

rboat88h

    NPORA Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 09:54 PM
  • Location:FL
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1997

Posted 09 May 2018 - 03:21 PM

My tach is fried and jumps all over the place. Is there any fuse or something I can remove just to completely disable it? It becomes very annoying and I don't want to spend the money to have it replaced. I heard these go bad quite often



#2 OFFLINE   ferrariowner123

ferrariowner123

    Needs a VH45

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,156 posts
  • Local time: 06:54 PM
  • Location:Fall City, WA
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1996

Posted 09 May 2018 - 04:06 PM

Just re-solder the connections on the back of the tacho assembly itself. There is four main and obvious connections that you resolder after you remove the assembly from the main cluster. 

 

-Kyle



#3 OFFLINE   onespiritbrain

onespiritbrain

    NPORA Old-Timer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Local time: 08:54 PM
  • Location:Gainesville GA
  • Country:
  • Model:LE
  • Year:1999

Posted 09 May 2018 - 07:32 PM

Just re-solder the connections on the back of the tacho assembly itself. There is four main and obvious connections that you resolder after you remove the assembly from the main cluster. 
 
-Kyle


Sounds like you know about this stuff.. like his tach, my odometer is on the fritz and rarely shows mileage. Most of the time it’s random numbers and partial digits jumping all over the place. Is there a known connection issue I missed while I had the cluster out? Is there anything I can do about it?

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#4 OFFLINE   Mrelcocko

Mrelcocko

    NPORA Old-Timer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 528 posts
  • Local time: 08:54 PM
  • Location:Lenoir City, Tn
  • Country:
  • Model:XE
  • Year:1998

Posted 10 May 2018 - 03:28 PM

My speedometer done the same thing on my 96 SE. Sometimes it would work sometimes it wouldn't. When it was working the mileage would work to all I did to fix it was pull the cluster out cleaned and tightened the ground screws on the back of the speedometer and now it works perfect.

Sent from my SM-S737TL using Tapatalk

#5 OFFLINE   ferrariowner123

ferrariowner123

    Needs a VH45

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,156 posts
  • Local time: 06:54 PM
  • Location:Fall City, WA
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1996

Posted 10 May 2018 - 04:17 PM

Sounds like you know about this stuff.. like his tach, my odometer is on the fritz and rarely shows mileage. Most of the time it’s random numbers and partial digits jumping all over the place. Is there a known connection issue I missed while I had the cluster out? Is there anything I can do about it?

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

Unfortunately i don't know much of anything about the digital ones. My 96 was the analog type. That being said, i would still pop the cluster out and investigate Just be gentle, you don't have to be like art dealer gentle, just be mindful that there are some delicate piece in there. 

 

Take the tachometer and odometer assembly out from the cluster housing and look around for some messed up solder points, should be crusty, black or not there at all. 

 

Other than that, i cant offer much specific knowledge about the digital clusters. sorry

 

-Kyle



#6 OFFLINE   onespiritbrain

onespiritbrain

    NPORA Old-Timer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 417 posts
  • Local time: 08:54 PM
  • Location:Gainesville GA
  • Country:
  • Model:LE
  • Year:1999

Posted 10 May 2018 - 04:51 PM

 
Unfortunately i don't know much of anything about the digital ones. My 96 was the analog type. That being said, i would still pop the cluster out and investigate Just be gentle, you don't have to be like art dealer gentle, just be mindful that there are some delicate piece in there. 
 
Take the tachometer and odometer assembly out from the cluster housing and look around for some messed up solder points, should be crusty, black or not there at all. 
 
Other than that, i cant offer much specific knowledge about the digital clusters. sorry
 
-Kyle


Thank you


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#7 OFFLINE   rboat88h

rboat88h

    NPORA Newbie

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • Pip
  • 8 posts
  • Local time: 09:54 PM
  • Location:FL
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1997

Posted 15 May 2018 - 03:28 PM

Thank You Farrariowner, Cleaned the contacts and tightened all the screws and it now works great. I had been putting up with that crappy tach for years.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Welcome to NPORA Forums

 

Please REGISTER to gain full access to the forum.

 

Make sure you read the Forum Guidelines and don't forget to post a new intro in the New People Start Here! section, to say hi too everyone.

 

-NPORA