Jump to content


Moving To New Servers!
Members interested in helping test the new NPORA server platform, please contact RedPath88 via PM or email for further information.
 
Thank you,
-NPORA
 
 


Photo

Camshaft Position Sensors going bad


  • Please log in to reply
34 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   hcorps

hcorps

    NPORA Newbie

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Local time: 11:04 AM
  • Location:Georgia
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:2003

Posted 19 April 2017 - 03:11 PM

I replaced Camshaft Position Sensors about 1000 miles ago when it was hard to crank and wouldn't accelerate. After replacing both sensors vehicle ran fine. Now getting same trouble. And Ideas? CPS were factory Nissan parts.

 



#2 OFFLINE   hcorps

hcorps

    NPORA Newbie

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Local time: 11:04 AM
  • Location:Georgia
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:2003

Posted 20 April 2017 - 05:28 AM

What would make the Camshaft Sensors go bad so often?

 



#3 OFFLINE   Citron

Citron

    NPORA Old-Timer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 697 posts
  • Local time: 07:04 AM
  • Location:Grays Harbor, Washington [WA]
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1992

Posted 20 April 2017 - 07:54 AM

Could it be something else this time?

#4 OFFLINE   onespiritbrain

onespiritbrain

    NPORA Fulltime Resident

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Local time: 11:04 AM
  • Location:Gainesville GA
  • Country:
  • Model:LE
  • Year:1999

Posted 20 April 2017 - 08:45 AM

Improper distance between sensor and teeth on the cog?

I seem to remember reading that one of the position sensors has to be near perfect.. I could have been reading about a different vehicle altogether however.. worth checking in to since it was just replaced and after replacement the issue was resolved. Maybe the sensor wasn't secured good enough and now the sensor is out of its operating range.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Edited by onespiritbrain, 20 April 2017 - 08:47 AM.


#5 OFFLINE   hcorps

hcorps

    NPORA Newbie

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Local time: 11:04 AM
  • Location:Georgia
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:2003

Posted 20 April 2017 - 09:38 AM

Torqued down correctly, its doing same thing it was doing before. No power, floor it and it will drop into 2nd  but wont hardly get up to 35mph...seems like it only does this when it gets warm..

 



#6 OFFLINE   onespiritbrain

onespiritbrain

    NPORA Fulltime Resident

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 268 posts
  • Local time: 11:04 AM
  • Location:Gainesville GA
  • Country:
  • Model:LE
  • Year:1999

Posted 20 April 2017 - 07:52 PM

Get a can of air duster, turn it upside down, and spray sensors until you find one that resolves the issue when it gets cold.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

#7 OFFLINE   hcorps

hcorps

    NPORA Newbie

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Local time: 11:04 AM
  • Location:Georgia
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:2003

Posted 21 April 2017 - 09:24 AM

I took it out and drove it til it started acting up, brought it home and sprayed the sensors. No change. I let the pathfinder sit for over an hour and it started up and ran fine for about 15 minutes then started same thing..sounded like a diesel when I drove back home, no power ect..

 



#8 OFFLINE   hcorps

hcorps

    NPORA Newbie

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Local time: 11:04 AM
  • Location:Georgia
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:2003

Posted 21 April 2017 - 09:26 AM

I'm running 10w-30 Castrol high milieage, if I changed over to 10w-40 would it help?

 



#9 OFFLINE   Citron

Citron

    NPORA Old-Timer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 697 posts
  • Local time: 07:04 AM
  • Location:Grays Harbor, Washington [WA]
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1992

Posted 21 April 2017 - 03:54 PM

No. Do you have any check engine lights? Sounds like it is going into a limp home mode.

#10 OFFLINE   hcorps

hcorps

    NPORA Newbie

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Local time: 11:04 AM
  • Location:Georgia
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:2003

Posted 21 April 2017 - 04:28 PM

I dont have a code reader but check engine light is on. What is limp mode?

 



#11 OFFLINE   Citron

Citron

    NPORA Old-Timer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 697 posts
  • Local time: 07:04 AM
  • Location:Grays Harbor, Washington [WA]
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1992

Posted 21 April 2017 - 06:56 PM

Under certain conditions the ECM will limit rpm, power and gears to prevent damage. It will still run though to allow you to limp home. Drive as little as possible in this mode.

Read your codes and that will tell you where to start. Otherwise your troubleshooting blind. An auto parts store should be able to read it for you.

#12 OFFLINE   hcorps

hcorps

    NPORA Newbie

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Local time: 11:04 AM
  • Location:Georgia
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:2003

Posted 24 April 2017 - 03:50 PM

Mechanic called and said its showing cam sensor codes and catalytic converter codes, I replaced cam sensors less than 1000 miles ago and it has a brand new total exhaust .

 



#13 OFFLINE   Citron

Citron

    NPORA Old-Timer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 697 posts
  • Local time: 07:04 AM
  • Location:Grays Harbor, Washington [WA]
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1992

Posted 24 April 2017 - 05:41 PM

Since this is new equipment, I would start troubleshooting before replacing anything. It could be that the cam sensors were never bad to begin with. There could be corrosion in the connector. I haven't looked into it, but I think that these are magnetic pickups. If so, they could be getting a faulty voltage from the ECM. There may be bad grounds somewhere.

If you are doing this yourself, get a factory service manual and follow the troubleshooting procedure for the cam sensors. If you are paying someone, make sure they troubleshoot and don't just replace parts.

#14 OFFLINE   hcorps

hcorps

    NPORA Newbie

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Local time: 11:04 AM
  • Location:Georgia
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:2003

Posted 25 April 2017 - 02:27 PM

Mechanic cleared all codes, it ran fine for like 20 miles. They said come pick it up, they couldn't find anything wrong. I told them to drive it again since the outside temp when they drove it was 60 degrees. They drove it this afternoon @ 82 degrees and it started losing power again and sounding like a diesel. The engine light came on and they ran the codes, no camshaft codes  only catalytic converter codes. It has brand new exhaust from manifolds back, only 1100 miles on it

 



#15 OFFLINE   Citron

Citron

    NPORA Old-Timer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 697 posts
  • Local time: 07:04 AM
  • Location:Grays Harbor, Washington [WA]
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1992

Posted 25 April 2017 - 05:58 PM

I am assuming when they tell you catalytic converter codes, they are actually talking about a downstream O2 sensor code, which is what tells you if the catalytic converter is still working correctly.

Are the O2 sensors new with the new exhaust?

#16 OFFLINE   hcorps

hcorps

    NPORA Newbie

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Local time: 11:04 AM
  • Location:Georgia
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:2003

Posted 26 April 2017 - 12:44 PM

They said the catalytic converter is almost completely stopped up and theres a lot of back pressure. They said I should replace both $1598 for parts and labor

 



#17 OFFLINE   RIPB.88

RIPB.88

    NPORA Fulltime Resident

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 303 posts
  • Local time: 09:04 AM
  • Location:Idaho
  • Country:
  • Model:XE
  • Year:1988

Posted 27 April 2017 - 06:07 AM

They said the catalytic converter is almost completely stopped up and theres a lot of back pressure. They said I should replace both $1598 for parts and labor

 

Magnaflow makes a universal replacement cat for roughly $200. If it were me, I would just get that and the swap should be pretty easy. Save you some cash that way.  :my2cents:



#18 OFFLINE   Citron

Citron

    NPORA Old-Timer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 697 posts
  • Local time: 07:04 AM
  • Location:Grays Harbor, Washington [WA]
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1992

Posted 27 April 2017 - 06:57 AM

Stopped up in 1000 miles? How did that happen?

#19 OFFLINE   hcorps

hcorps

    NPORA Newbie

  • Topic Starter
  • Members
  • Pip
  • 20 posts
  • Local time: 11:04 AM
  • Location:Georgia
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:2003

Posted 27 April 2017 - 08:02 AM

I guess they replaced the exhaust with cat back system when I bought it.

 

 

 

 



#20 OFFLINE   Citron

Citron

    NPORA Old-Timer

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 697 posts
  • Local time: 07:04 AM
  • Location:Grays Harbor, Washington [WA]
  • Country:
  • Model:SE
  • Year:1992

Posted 27 April 2017 - 11:38 AM

Ah, I thought you had said it was replaced from manifolds back.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users

Welcome to NPORA Forums

 

Please REGISTER to gain full access to the forum.

 

Make sure you read the Forum Guidelines and don't forget to post a new intro in the New People Start Here! section, to say hi too everyone.

 

-NPORA