95 hesitating after changing spark plugs

shlap

Hi guys, I just changed out the sparkplugs in my 95 pathfinder for no reason other than I knew it was about time (they're at least 15 yrs old). The Pathfinder was running great actually until I replaced the plugs. After that, it was idling a little more rough and hesitating most noticeably when not accelerating.

So I took all the plugs back out and checked the gap which I hadn't done before because the guy at O'Rielly told me I shouldn't have to. I'm a novice but trying to be more handy; lesson learned :-). The new ones were all about 28 and my old ones were gaped at 61! From what I've read, they should be about 32 so I gapped them all at 32 and put them back. This helped the rough idle, but it still hesitates a bit (not as much) when cruising along.

Given that the old plugs were gapped at 62, should I gap my new ones even more? Or is there something else that I should be focusing on now to make it run smooth again?

Thanks!

• Like 1

I would check that you didn't break the wires or some random connection in there. Spark Plug Wires, with age, can degrade and fall apart when changing the spark plugs. If you suspect something like that, you can hear a distinctive click when it's arcing to a ground and not making it to the spark plug. It will be most observable when it's dark out and you can see the spark.

Mine has a vacuum connection on the back side of the intake that I'm really good at knocking off when I'm messing around in that area, which can cause a rough idle and likely hesitation.

Also, If you took the wires off of the distributor cap, it's easy to plug one back into the wrong hole.

Edited by gamellott