2001 Nissan Pathfinder SE 4x4 5spd 3.5l question about MAF sensor...

Hey all! Got a bit of hesitation with my truck upon start up and was wondering if anyone has any ideas on what I should or could do? I have done all the main stuff within the past 6-9 months. NGK Platinum plugs, fuel filter, air filter, new muffler, and fresh oil changes as needed. My tires are 265/70 r16 General AT2'S so I understand that my mileage for gas might be decreased by a little bit but since the new muffler 2 weeks ago it's even worse. I'm getting about 14.5-15.75 mpgs and thought with the new muffler I'd be possibly increasing my mpgs. Anyhow, I saw on the 96-04 R50 Facebook page that someone had changed their MAF sensor and that it now runs like new. Keep in mind that my Pathfinder has been pretty well kept and maintained so I'm leaning towards purchasing a new one (MAF sensor) just to see what happens. I'm no mechanic though and would appreciate any information or advice for doing this swap. Picture of my truck below. Thanks in advance!57c1f76dcff73ea8f043017979fac77b.jpg

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk

Get the Maxima maf. Some of the pathfinders have security torx screws, mine just had regular torx screws. Real quick change, just don't drop it. I hear they are somewhat sensitive to shock.

The Maxima maf was cheap enough that I just changed mine when I did plugs and coils. You'll have to clear the self learning and relearn idle air volume afterwards though.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Edited by Mbrianc

I'm a newb so this might be a dumb question but how does a bad muffler affect fuel mileage?

The reason ask is because the end bits of my exhaust fell off, including the muffler, and I've been too lazy to come up with a fix.

• 2 weeks later...

I'm a newb so this might be a dumb question but how does a bad muffler affect fuel mileage?