Body Damage

PJSnow

Hey guys, so I got hit and just wanted some suggestions to see what you guys think I should do. The backstory, I parked it right in front of the house on the street for about 36 hrs and i come out to see the driver's door is bent in. At first it was difficult to open but now it opens and closes fine (i guess it popped out a bit). But didn't get a note or anything so I have no idea who did it. Never had to do body work before so Im new to all this. From where i stand i see 3 options:

1 I get a body shop to get it looking new again but for probably a pretty penny

2 I try to find a color match door from a junk yard (how hard to replace doors?)

3 I leave it

money is pretty tight right now but Im really frustrated. here are some pictures. let me know what you guys think

image_zpsadir7rur.jpg

image_zpsmv09vcoe.jpg

image_zpsr5f4edqd.jpg

I also have the stock decal across the whole side. So if i get a door from the junk yard then ill have one panel without the decal and the rest with, or is that all removable anyway?

And yes the paint is chipping in the spot where the metal "pinched"

Sorry to hear man this sucks. People are assholes. No integrity.

Well I'd say weigh your options, get a quote from a few body shops, check out some junk yards and see what you come up with. I definitely wouldn't leave it. It would bug me too much and it's gonna be the beginning of a downwards spiral.

When you say decal, are you talking about that pin stripe? Maybe see if you can remove it al around. Unless it's actually painted on.

I'm assuming you dont have full coverage? Un-insured coverage usually covers this type of thing.

With those creases, it will be hard to do with little body work experience. I would try to find one in a junk yard.

• Like 1